There’s nothing sexier than a man who can cook

Mozzarella Stuffed Meatballs

Mozzarella Stuffed Meatballs

In my short 24 years I have met far too many men who can’t get by in life because they lack the basic life skills every human should have. The knowledge to do laundry and cook seem to be the biggest challenges of them all. I have been fortunate enough to find a man that can do both without guidance and coaching. Josh comes from a family where the men cook and the women bake, so in our house that’s the way it works. Josh does all of the cooking and I do all of the baking. As much as I like to cook, I am happy to give up the chore of making dinner, especially when I am spoiled with amazing meals.

Classic lemon rosemary chicken w/pasta

Classic lemon rosemary chicken w/pasta

Josh follows the “primal” lifestyle. For those of you who don’t know what that entails, he cuts out all grains, starches, carbs, legumes and any other possible happiness out of his diet. As an extreme pasta enthusiast you can see where our choices in food clash. I also refuse to eat vegetables, which Josh eats a lot of. Most of our meals consist of a meat – steak, chicken, sausage – and then a veggie or occasional sweet potato for him and rice or pasta for me. When I bake, I tend to substitute almond flour or coconut flour for the regular flour. His favorite treat is chocolate chip banana bread.

Ginger rosemary buttered chicken, wrapped in bacon atop a grilled pineapple. Optional: Brussels or potatoes

Ginger rosemary buttered chicken, wrapped in bacon atop a grilled pineapple. Optional: Brussels or potatoes

Today he decided to create an Instagram to showcase all of his food creations. He likes to think of it as a digital photo album of recipes, which he takes great pride in. Feel free to follow him @doc.cat to see all of his tasty creations and what I am having for dinner.

Tuscan steak and shrimp

Tuscan steak and shrimp

Josh loves to experiment with different spices and flavor combinations. Aside from the usual classics, he often times like to open up our well-stocked spice cabinet and create a delicious meal. Occasionally I find recipes on Pinterest or Facebook and send them over to Josh. He is always happy to make whatever I send over, whether he actually eats it or not. The mozzarella stuffed meatballs were his latest creation based on a recipe I saw on Facebook. Just like going to the grocery store hungry, Pinterest-ing while hungry can also be dangerous. I’ve pinned more recipes than I could ever imagine. Thankfully I have a great cook who loves to make new things who will make them all for me.

Rosemary/onion grilled steak with blackened shrimp

Rosemary/onion grilled steak with blackened shrimp

Family recipe Alfredo over grilled chicken and pasta w/ homemade pina coladas

Family recipe Alfredo over grilled chicken and pasta w/ homemade pina coladas

Chicken parmesan, garlic bread, pasta

Chicken parmesan, garlic bread, pasta

-AB

Leave a Reply

