The heat is on…well almost!

For the last couple of days I’ve had work men at the house installing my shiny new heating system! Josh is glad that he will be able to heat up the house pretty soon and I am glad to break free from the evil that is Petro. I managed to run out of oil 5 times last winter on their automatic deliveries. Absolutely ridiculous, I suggest staying as far away from them as possible.

Baseboard heater

Baseboards in the living room

My dad came up from New York to hang out at the house Wednesday and Thursday so Josh and I didn’t have to take off of work to be there with them. Today is Josh’s day of so he will be there while they finish the last stage of the job. I thought they would be starting downstairs and would install the heating unit first, then move on to the baseboards. I thought I was being helpful by cleaning up the basement first for them to start their work. I was wrong. They started upstairs and worked their way down. Dad, Josh and Eric had to move all of the stuff upstairs in a quick hurry so they could work. Oops. The first day they pretty much finished the second floor, yesterday they polished off the second floor and did most of the first floor, so today they will be finishing the last little pieces on the first floor and ending in the basement. They will most likely have to finish the rest of the work on Monday, so by then I will have a working system.

Baseboard heater

Baseboards in the kitchen

I decided to bite the bullet and spend a little extra money to get the tankless hot water/heating combo unit. My poor hot water tank has been doctored up so many times by Josh, my dad and my neighbor that I’m showering on borrowed time. I am incredibly lucky it lasted as long as it did. I’m also glad my heating system held on for as long as it did. I just prayed everyday that we wouldn’t go cold. Fortunately I will be good to go in just a couple more days and not have to stress about running out of oil this winter. Petro can suck it! I could not be anymore excited for November 1st when I get to happily submit my written cancellation note. I honestly would not wish them on my worst enemy. I’d rather have Ebola. They already took all of the radiators out of the house and I just love how much more room there is. So much more room for activities!

I guess you know your an adult when you are this excited about getting a new heating system in your house. I’m living the dream! As much as I complain and whine and spend more money than I’d like to on this god forsaken house, at the end of the day it’s mine. All of the effort, blood, sweat, tears, it’s mine. I lay in bed at night with Josh and Mara and smile knowing that I have a pretty great life. I have my health, my job, a house, my man, my dog and now heat. A simple life, but I love every minute of it.

-AB

Leave a Reply

