16 Things Your Bridal Consultant Hates

Aside from working for an IT company, I am also a part-time bridal consultant for David’s Bridal. This is my fun job that I work nights and weekends for extra money. It’s not much, but it helps build my emergency reserve fund that I tend to need more often than I’d like. I worked the closing shift yesterday. I tend to do a lot of closing shifts with my availability. I typically work Tuesday and Thursday nights 6-9:30 pm and the weekends, any shift. during our slow times May-December I work one or two days a week, but during our busy season January-April I can work every available day I have. One of the perks of the job is closing at 7 pm on the weekends. It allows me to continue to have a social life on the weekends. Just kidding. I don’t actually have one of those.

After the day I had yesterday I knew I needed to write this post today. I think every one should be forced to work retail at least once in their life to appreciate what a retail worker goes through. Here are 16 things your bridal consultant absolutely hates, but will never tell you.

  1. When you say “I’m not actually planning on buying today.”
    Bridal consultants work on commission so our time is more valuable than you think. Immediately saying you don’t plan on buying means we know that we are wasting our time. We have a productivity goal that we must reach and if we do not consistently make that goal we can lose our jobs. Fortunately this is a second job for me, but some consultants rely on this job to put food on their table and take care of their families. If you don’t have the right person with you to make the decision today, please wait. If you are trying to get ideas on price, browse our website first. If your wedding is two years away and your starting to get ideas, just wait, these dresses won’t be around when you’re actually looking to buy anyway. Please come in with an open mind and don’t tell us you’re not going to buy.
  2. When you only want dresses with corsets or buttons.
    This might seem like a silly one, but the corsets and buttons are incredibly tedious and take forever. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE buttons and corsets are gorgeous, but we dread the woman who only wants dresses with one or both.
  3. When you walk in half an hour before closing.
    Please do not walk in with half an hour left before closing and expect a full session. Bridal appointments are typically an hour and a half. It make thinks very stressful for your consultant and you. Rushing is not the way you should be buying your bridal gown. This is a big decision and requires time. It will also almost guarantee that the store staff has to stay late to clean up from your visit. After a long day the last thing we want to do is stay any later than we need to.
  4. When you argue with us on size.
    My job is to make sure you look good in your dress. Size is just a number and does not define who you are. David’s Bridal runs small, I’m not just trying to make you feel better so don’t be offended when I tell you that. I do this for a living and I’m really good at it. If I say you are a 10, don’t insist on trying on a 6. You’re only going to frustrate yourself and your consultant.
  5. When you show up with a huge entourage.
    Everyone has an opinion and the more people you bring the more opinions there will be. Leave your brother’s friend’s sister’s cousin home. Does it really matter what they think? Are they paying for the dress? Didn’t think so. As consultants we see this a lot and it never goes well. You will either end up trying on 40 extra dresses you hate, your voice gets lost in the noise, you will leave without a dress or all of the above.
  6. Pinterest.
    Now I am a Pinterest girl through and through. I have a wedding board and spend hours pinning ideas. Coming in saying “I want this one” is not realistic. They are usually $30,000 dresses from Paris shown on a -3 sized photoshopped model. I encourage using Pinterest to find ideas on elements and silhouettes you like. Open back, lace, buttons, corsets, mermaid, ballgown, tulle, satin, etc. Do not come in with a dress and say that is exactly what you want. Odds are we are all going to be disappointed at the end of the appointment. As long as you understand you will never find a Pinterest gown we will be ok.
  7. Say Yes To The Dress.
    Again, I am a HUGE fan. Just ask Josh. We watch religiously every Sunday morning while he makes breakfast. I am even watching it as I write this. It is a great show but also paints an unrealistic picture about the experience. At David’s Bridal we try to make the day as special as possible but we do not have Monty or Randy, we don’t have large beautiful dressing rooms,  there are no camera crews, I don’t have thousands of dresses, there are no comfy couches, it can be a little crowded at times and I may have to help multiple people at the same time. I will do my best to make the experience everything you could hope for but please do not come in thinking you will be starring in the next episode of Say Yes To the Dress.
  8. When you are closed-minded. 
    Probably 9 times out of 10 my bride’s walk out with something they never thought they would get. You will come in with a slew of ideas on what you want but that usually changes once you see it on yourself. Things look great on photoshopped models. When you immediately come in and say you will NOT try on anything with_____, and start listing different elements, you really start to limit the options I have for you. With brides that know what they want (or think they do) I will start with their picks. My job is to watch your body language, listen to the things you say you like that the ones you don’t like and build you the perfect dress. I am limited by the dresses I have in my showroom. If I could run in the back and whip up a custom dress for you I would, but I can’t. Be open-minded. I do this for a living and I’ve been told I’m really good at my job. Try on something you normally wouldn’t try. I can almost guarantee that you will be pleasantly surprised.
  9. When you let someone tell you what to do or what to get.
    Who’s wearing the dress? Who’s day is it? Who needs to be comfortable in it? You. Not mom, not dad, not your bridemaids, maid of honor, sister, brother, friends, cousins, aunts, grandparents, cousins’ friend’s brother’s mother’s dog. You do. Make sure you are happy. I know the opinions of your friends and family matter, but in the end you need to love it.
  10. When you have an unrealistic budget.
    Having a beer budget and champagne taste always causes issues. It is ok to have a small budget, just please understand that you cannot get a $1,000 look for $200. Sometimes we will have a kickass sale and you may get lucky, but probably not. We have some great options to help afford a higher priced dress like the David’s Bridal Credit Card with 6 or 12 months of no interest, layaway and special order reserve. Consider your options. You will look back on these wedding photos for the rest of your life, make sure you get the dress you really want. I’ve even had brides cut back on centerpieces or other parts of the wedding to get the dress they want. We will do our best to work with any budget we are given but sometimes its unrealistic based on what you are asking for in a dress.
  11. When you come in less than 6 months before your wedding.
    We work miracles everyday, but sometimes we are limited to what we can do. That includes ordering a dress. Unfortunately some dresses are cut to order and can take 27 weeks to come in. Alterations need to be done at least 2 months before the wedding so you cut your time by that much right off the bat. Some people choose to buy a sample dress which is fine, but having a nice new dress is definitely better. I’ve fitted brides for a dress with two hours to the “I dos.” Some days my team just rocks. But when you fall in love with dresses I can’t get delivered in time everyone is disappointed. Don’t wait! You should be picking your dress out at least 1 year in advance. I might sound like such a long time but it really isn’t if you fall in love with a cut to order dress. Same goes for bridesmaids. These dresses can take even longer to come in than wedding gowns so order those asap too.
  12. When you and your family start pulling a million dresses off the racks.
    I like to let my brides look through the racks themselves. David’s Bridal does not recommend it for this very reason. If you have 3 other people with you and they all pull gowns, between you, me and all of them you might have 15-20 dresses. Statistics show that brides who try on five or few dresses are much more satisfied. The experience can be overwhelming to start, so trying on 15-20 dresses can make things much more confusing. Anytime the family pulls dresses, they also pull the wrong sizes or dresses out of price range. So go ahead and look. If you see one or two you absolutely love, that’s great, otherwise please let your consultant pull them.
  13. When you bring children that can’t behave.
    I’m sure any retail associate will agree with me on this one. I understand that sometimes you can’t get a babysitter, or you want to also fit the flower girl, but bored children can be the worst. I’ve had children knock over racks and mannequins, run face first into the mirrors, fall off the platforms, break things, knock over chairs, trip people, step on dresses and give the consultants and other customers one hell of a headache. If your children can’t behave for an hour and a half, please do not bring them with you. The bride should be the center of attention during the appointment, and children will take that away. It is incredibly hard to make such an important decision when you are too busy wrangling and roping children. Sometimes we have some great kids in there. Give them an iPad and they are set for hours. Sadly, most kids are little hell raisers and ruin appointments.
  14. When come in as a self-proclaimed “Bridezilla.”
    There is nothing funny or amusing about that. The bridal consultants, your family and your friends are not your slaves or your punching bags. We are here to help you and support you so do not be rude, nasty and demanding. Without my help and theirs you probably wouldn’t be having such a special day. Be nice, please.
  15. When you have no idea what you want.
    It is ok to come in and say you are not sure what you want, but please have some sort of ideas on stuff you might like to try. We need a place to start. Brides who have 0 ideas are just as bad as brides who have too many ideas. Give us just a little bit of help.
  16. The know-it-all friend or family member.
    There is usually always one person in the group that thinks they know everything there is to know about wedding gowns. They are usually the ones rattling off the types of fabrics, silhouettes, grabbing veils, sashes, accessories and shoes. On the incredibly rare occasion they actually know what they are talking about, but usually they are wrong about everything. They are pulling veils that don’t match, putting sashes on dresses that shouldn’t have them, and just spouting of things that don’t make sense. A good consultant will be nice and let them talk nd do but always make the right recommendation without offending anyone.

I have had some of the most amazing brides, and some of the worst. If you and your entourage are nice, fun and understand you are the center of attention I will go above and beyond to make sure you have the most amazing bridal appointment. I will do everything in my power to make sure you walk out of there with a beautiful dress and a big smile. I am a bridal consultant because I love it, not because I need the money. I genuinely want you to find the perfect dress, whether or not that is at David’s Bridal. I will not try to talk you in to something because I will make more money, I talk everything very personal and if I can’t make you happy I will be disappointed in myself. For those of you that are going to be wedding dress shopping soon or anytime in the future, whether as a bride, bridesmaid or supporter, please take into consideration your bridal consultant and her time as well as yours.

Leave a Reply

