True love is buying you Sudafed at 3am

So this is a post just to brag about how amazing my boyfriend is. Continue to read at your own risk.

The last 3 days I’ve been sick and dying with a real nasty sinus infection. On Sunday I finally hit a wall just in time to go back to work on Monday. I dragged Josh out to the store to get a cool mist machine, figuring I could try and stop this from happening. He gave me some Mucinex out of his bag of medic tricks and we went to bed. About 3:30 am I woke up in tears from all of the pain and pressure in my face and my head. I woke Josh up and asked him to take me to the store to get medicine. Through my hysterics and groggy, stuffed up, delusional mind, I kept asking if he was mad at me and hated me. He kept assuring me he wasn’t mad and that he loved me very much. He tried to leave without me and insisted I stay in bed and rest while he went to get me meds, but me being the stubborn body that I am had to go. I felt bad enough that I woke him up at 3 am to make him drive to the store, I wasn’t going to make him go alone. Plus I knew the 30 degree air would make me feel better.

The whole way there I just kept apologizing about making him wake up and drive. He reminded me that this is what he does when he works the overnight shifts at the ambulance company, except this time it was for me so he didn’t mind. We made it to the store, talked to the pharmacist, got the Sudafed and hit the road. I did consider Denny’s for a hot minute since it was right in the parking lot but I knew I wasn’t going to enjoy any part of it so we went home. When I lived in my apartment in Cranston Josh and I frequented the Denny’s down in Warwick on late nights, so much so that the waitresses knew our order when we sat down.

We got back home, let Mara out to pee, Josh gave me my drugs and we went back to bed. He held my hand, gave me my favorite forehead kisses and told me how much he loved me and that he could never hate me for 3 am trips to the drug store. When we woke up he made me breakfast, which I couldn’t taste at all. Since my back was hurting really bad from all of my coughing, I went back to lay in bed. He came upstairs to rub my back for me before he left for work. As he usually does, he wanted to make sure I ate before he left so he made me a grilled cheese and some ginger ale and chocolate syrup. A few more kisses, and he left. When he got home he picked up right where he left off, making sure I had my next dose of medicine, making sure I ate, making sure I had plenty of fluids and that I was comfortable.

I have never met someone who bends over backwards and then doesn’t complain about it. I have met too many people who will help you, but then turn and around and whine or complain or you end up owing them one. Josh is never like that and that’s one of the million reasons why I love him so much. Unfortunately I needed a second day of recovery so I am home again. Josh works a 16 hour shift today so he left at 3:30 am. He’s been texting me every so often to check on me and make sure I am doing ok. I am the luckiest girl in world to have someone so loving and sweet to take care of me when I’m happy and well and when I’m miserable and sick.

-AB

Leave a Reply

