Back From My Doctor Who Hiatus

It’s been a couple of months since my last post, but it was for an incredibly important reason. I have been spending 100% of my free time binge watching all seasons of the Doctor Who reboot.

It all started when I took Josh to see the Doctor Who Christmas special in theaters. Knowing he was a diehard Whovian I couldn’t pass on the opportunity to take him to see the special on the big screen. This year’s special starred River Song, a beloved character that Whovians absolutely adore. Of course seeing that episode with River convinced me Doctor Who was awesome and that I needed to go back and watch the entire reboot series from the first episode.

Episodes are usually 45 minutes to an hour long so I knew it was going to take a long time to get through all 117 episodes. What really threw a wrench in the works was that thanks to “Friends” Netflix was going to be nixing the Doctor Who series to pay the bill for a series I can watch on 10 different channels at any given moment. But I digress. I now had one month to watch 117 episodes before Netflix took them away. Challenge accepted.

Well, it is now February 1st and I made it through 104 episodes. I failed my mission. I was able to watch seasons 1-7 in their entirety, but didn’t make it to season 8. I purchased season 9 on Amazon for Josh, so I just have to track down season 8 to get fully caught up.

In the last month I have literally neglected all of my adult responsibilities to try and watch as many episodes as I can. I finally went grocery shopping and did laundry for the first time in a month. I was literally eating, sleeping and watching Doctor Who. Public service announcement: do not neglect your house cleaning duties when living with two guys and a dog because you will regret it. I think I am going to need a little extra disinfectant. Or maybe some gasoline and a match. I’ll let you know later this week.

Leave a Reply

